In celebration of Amigo The Devil Day in Austin, Texas on November 16, Amigo the Devil has announced his forthcoming sophomore album Born Against, releasing both the cover art and track listing. The album was recorded at Modern Electric in Dallas, TX with producer Beau Bedford and is set for release on streaming, vinyl and CD on February 19, 2021 via Amigo’s own label, Liars Club. On his sophomore album, Dark Americana artist Amigo The Devil channels Tom Waits, Leonard Cohen and Fiona Apple mixed together with his own unique twist.

dark americana artistKiranos says of ‘Born Against’: “Every new record is an opportunity to sit and think about how much has changed in your life and the world around you. It’s a new opportunity to bring in both new and old influences. I really wanted to dive into ideas that I’d either been avoiding or ignoring within myself and figure out ways to align them with music I grew up listening to. Influences that may have been set aside in our older recordings, like Tom Waits, Fiona Apple, Taraf de Haïdouks and Demis Roussos…the pulse of Leonard Cohen’s stories…the crooning and raw heart of Selda Bagcan…just to name a few. While the record may not sound like these artists directly, I tried to explore their abilities to create these incredible visuals through songs and whether or not it was done successfully. I walked away with a new appreciation and deeper understanding for writing honestly and with purpose.”

Danny Kiranos, better known to the masses as his musical counterpart Amigo The Devil, pushes the boundaries of traditional folk, Americana, and country music. He combines heartfelt elements and a strident undertone that pairs effortlessly with straightforward, identifiable lyricism. His morbid, yet oddly romantic take on songwriting has amassed a dedicated, cult-like fan base around the globe.

After the release of his debut album Everything Is Fine, produced by Grammy Award-winner Ross Robinson in 2018, Amigo The Devil became a folk anomaly drawing attention from everyone from the likes of Noisey, Consequence of Sound, Kerrang, Brooklyn Vegan and more. LA Weekly described him as “Johnny Cash at his blackest, mixed with Father John Misty, if he exhumed graves at Hollywood Forever Cemetery.” While Rolling Stone proclaimed, “Kiranos unflinchingly explores dark and grim subject matter from suicide to serial killers… he spins these topics into dark love songs that explode into heavy-metal catharsis.”

Born Against is now available for pre-order by clicking HERE

Born Against Tracklisting:
1 – Small Stone
2 – Quiet As A Rat
3 – Murder At The Bingo Hall
4 – Drop For Every Hour
5 – Better Ways To Fry A Fish
6 – Different Anymore
7 – Another Man’s Grave
8 – 24k Casket
9 – Shadow
10 – Letter From Death Row

Categories: Music